In Sports, the West Coast is the Best Coast

For all you sports fanatics out there that have spent the majority of your life west of the Rocky Mountains, there a good chance you’ve been just as frustrated as I have with the undeniable East Coast biased portrayed by popular Sports Networks such as ESPN.  If this is the case, then this blog is for you.  The ultimate goal of this blog is to provide its readers with an in-depth look at sport teams that reside on the west side of our wonderful country. Simply put, I want to show the West Coast some love!

Now, I’m not here to say that I’m an expert on every sport, but I do indeed have a sports background—as limited as it might be. I fell in love with sports the day my Dad signed me up for football and baseball at the early age of seven years old.  In high school I letter in both football and baseball for three years and was named 2nd Team All-League my junior and senior year in baseball. After high school, I was lucky enough to get an opportunity to play baseball at the College of San Mateo where I pitched for part of the 2007 season.  Throughout these experiences, I learned the intricacies of the games that I love, and therefore, feel as though I can speak about them intelligently.

After my sports career was over and my education became the highest priority, sports became my biggest hobby and fills much of my free time.  I’ve become an avid fan and watch my teams play whenever and wherever I can.  What I’ve noticed over the years in my conversations with other fans is that many people east of the Mississippi have no idea just how good the sports are out here in the West. Can’t say I blame them, either.  Why would they, considering the major networks don’t give West Coast teams nearly as much air time as they do for their East Coast counterparts. On ESPN it’s all about the Yankees and Red Socks, the NY Giants and the Cowboys, the Heat and the Celtics.  Where are is all the national coverage for the great West Coast teams like the SF Giants who have won 2 out 3 World Series Championships? And how is it possible that the NFC West was arguably the best division this year in football and no one other then the fans of those teams knows about it? I could go on all day with this kind of media bias!

The truth is it boils down to numbers.  The East Coast is a much bigger market and it makes better businesses sense to tailor networks to the more profitable market.  But is this fair? Does this have an impact on the future of west coast sports? In the coming weeks I will attempt to answer these questions in hopes of shedding a little light on the value of West Coast sports.   Be sure to look for updates and read my posts if you love the West Coast like I do.

2 thoughts on “In Sports, the West Coast is the Best Coast

  1. Not been raised here, my American male sports knowledge is very limited. I love basketball, I like football and soccer, and I barely get baseball. I’ve attended several live games and watch sports on tv. I played volleyball and basketball in middle school, but then I decided that were too rough for me.
    Looking forward learning more about west coast sports with your blog!

    • Thanks for the feedback. Make sure to look for updates and I will try my best to give you a good idea of just how awesome the West Coast is when it comes to sports!

Leave a comment